All  A  B  C  D  F  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  V  W  X  Y  Z   Faculty Database Lists

A   

ABC Splash 
ABC Splash brings you high-quality digital educational content from across the ABC and around the world. Content includes videos, audio clips, games and interactive tools.

ABC Splash | STEM 
Dedicated STEM section from ABC Splash. Topics include coding, robotics, nanotechnology, design, engineering, construction.

Animal Diversity Web 
The Animal Diversity Web is an online database and encyclopedia of animal natural history. From University of Michigan.

ARKive 
The best of the world’s wildlife films and photographs.

Artsy 
This growing database of 230,000 images of art, architecture, and design by 25,000 artists spans historical, modern, and contemporary works, and includes the largest online database of contemporary art.

Atlas of Living Australia 
Information on all the known species in Australia aggregated from a wide range of data providers: museums, herbaria, community groups, government departments, individuals and universities.

AustLit 
Authoritative information on creative and critical works by and relating to Australian writers, relevant cultural organisations, and industries.
AustLit is available from the State Library of NSW. To get your State Library card sign up here.

Australia/New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre
This site covers more than 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).

Australasian Legal Information Institute 
AustLII provides free internet access to Australasian legal materials. AustLII is a joint facility of the UTS and UNSW Faculties of Law.

Australian Bureau of Statistics 
Australian statistical and reference information.

Australian Dictionary of Biography 
The Australian Dictionary of Biography is Australia’s pre-eminent dictionary of national biography. In it you will find concise, informative and fascinating descriptions of the lives of significant and representative persons in Australian history.

Australian National University Press Library 
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: ANU Press

Browse or search ANU Press, eView and eTEXT publications including books, journals and series, and download the ebook for free.

Australian Poetry Library 
The Australian Poetry Library (APL) aims to promote a greater appreciation and understanding of Australian poetry by providing access to a wide range of poetic texts as well as to critical and contextual material relating to them, including interviews, photographs and audio/visual recordings.

Australian Screen 
Information about and excerpts from a wide selection of Australian feature films, documentaries, television programs, newsreels, short films, animations, and home-movies produced over the last 100 years.

Australian War Memorial 
The Australian War Memorial combines a shrine, a world-class museum, and an extensive archive.


BBC Food 
Discover more than 10,000 recipes.

Biodiversity Heritage Library 
The Biodiversity Heritage Library works collaboratively to make biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.

Birdlife International 
Access information, maps and reports on the status of all 10,000 of the world’s bird species.

Britannica School 
The online classroom information solution from Britannica Digital Learning. Sign in using your Oakhill username and password.

British Library 
The British Library serves business and industry, researchers, academics and students, in the UK and world-wide

British Museum 
The original collection of the British Museum included antiquities, coins and medals, natural history specimens and a large library collection. It now comprises over 8 million objects spanning the history of the world’s cultures: from the stone tools of early man to twentieth century prints.



Cambridge Companions  
Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture; and the Companions in Music.
Now available from the State Library of NSW. Sign in with your State Library account. To get your State Library card sign up here.

Cambridge Histories 
This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series.
Available from the State Library of NSW. Sign in with your State Library account. To get your State Library card sign up here.

CIA Cartography 
Since 1941, the CIA Cartography Center maps have told the stories of post-WWII reconstruction, the Suez crisis, the Cuban Missile crisis, the Falklands War, and many other important events in history.

CIA World Factbook 
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

ClickView 
Oakhill’s video resources online. Sign in using your Oakhill username and password.

Cool Australia 
“Cool Australia is your one-stop info-shop for all things environmental, inspirational, practical and sustainable. Full of facts, we are the eco-link between science and our community, businesses and schools.”
Free Professional Development courses.

Creative Commons Image Search 
Use this prototype to find images that you can use and remix across several open archives.


Digital Public Library of America Primary Source Sets 
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more.

DK Find Out 
Subject-based, curriculum-linked articles to support classroom learning and teaching.

DOAJ 
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.


EBSCO Explora 
Explora is EBSCO’s interface for Schools and Public Libraries. Search for articles in Journals and Newspapers.
Sign in with your Oakhill username and password.

Encyclopedia of Earth 
The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.

Encyclopedia of Life
The Encyclopedia of Life is a database that aims to have an electronic image of each species of organism to be found on the planet. Best results are obtained when searched by scientific name.

Encyclopedia of Mathematics 
The Encyclopedia of Mathematics wiki is an open access resource designed specifically for the mathematics community.

Europeana 
A single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe.



Film Index International 
Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies – from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters.
Available from the State Library. Sign in with your State Library account. To get your State Library card sign up here.

Flickr: the Commons 
Photos, with no known or limited copyright restrictions, available from The Library of Congress, The British Library, NYPL, Smithsonian Institution, Bibliothèque de Toulouse, Australian War Memorial Collection, State Library of New South Wales, Imperial War Museum Collections, The Field Museum Library, NASA, Getty Research Institute and other participating institutions.


Gale PowerSearch 
Gale PowerSearch provides you with access to almost all the Gale content in our library’s collection through a single search.
To log in use your Oakhill username and password.

Geohive 
GeoHive is a site with all kinds of population statistics.

Geoscience Australia 
Geoscience Australia is Australia’s national geoscience agency and exists to apply geoscience to Australia’s most important challenges.

globalEDGE 
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
Free Registration.

Google Arts & Culture 
Discover exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail, from hidden gems to masterpieces.

Green’s Dictionary of Slang 
Green’s Dictionary of Slang is the largest historical dictionary of English slang written by Jonathon Green. On this website the dictionary is now available in updated online form for the first time, complete with advanced search tools enabling search by definition and history, and an expanded bibliography of slang sources from the early modern period to the present day.


Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History 
The Met’s Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum’s collection.

History reference Center
Covering both U.S. and world history topics, History Reference Center is a full-text database featuring historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents.

How Stuff Works 
HowStuffWorks explains thousands of topics, from engines to lock-picking to ESP, with video and illustrations so you can learn how everything works.


If It Were My Home
The lottery of birth is responsible for much of who we are. If you were not born in the country you were, what would your life be like? Would you be the same person?
IfItWereMyHome.com is your gateway to understanding life outside your home. Use our country comparison tool to compare living conditions in your own country to those of another. Start by selecting a region to compare on the map to the right, and begin your exploration.

Imperial War Museums
IWM covers conflicts, especially those involving Britain and the Commonwealth, from the First World War to the present day for the study and understanding of the history of modern war and ‘wartime experience’.

Internet Archive 
A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artefacts in digital form. Free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public.

Internet History Sourcebook 
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented for educational use.

Internet Movie Database 
Database of movies, TV and entertainment programs including cast and crew members.

Issues in Society 
News and views on contemporary issues.
These books are available as PDFs from the Library Intranet. Log in with your Oakhill username and password.


JSTOR 
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Access using your State Library account. To get your State Library card sign up here.


Knoema 
Investigate world data maps – economies, population, commodities, demographics and many more. Build your own charts and graphs from multiple data sources.
Registration (free) required to download data.


Legal Answers 
Find Legal Answers is a free legal information service for the community in New South Wales.
This service is available online and in public libraries across the state and is co-ordinated by staff of the Legal Information Access Centre (LIAC).

Library Catalogue 
Oakhill College library resources, books, eBooks and audiobooks.

Library of Congress 
The Library serves as the research arm of US Congress and is recognized as the national library of the United States. Its collections comprise the world’s most comprehensive record of human creativity and knowledge.


Moving Image Gateway 
This Gateway includes over 1,900 websites relating to moving image and sound materials. These have been subdivided into over 40 subject areas.
From British Universities Film & Video Council.


National Archives of Australia
The NAA collection traces events and decisions that have shaped the nation and the lives of Australians.

National Archives UK 
The national archive for England, Wales and the United Kingdom holds over 1,000 years of the nation’s records for everyone to discover and use.

National Film & Sound Archive 
The National Film and Sound Archive of Australia is the nation’s living archive, collecting, preserving and sharing our rich audio-visual heritage.

National Library of Australia 
Resources of national significance relating to Australia and the Australian people, as well as significant non-Australian library materials.

NationMaster 
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
Generate your own maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.

New York Public Library Digital Collections 
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

New York Public Library Public Domain Collections 
On January 6th, 2016, The New York Public Library made over 187K digital items in the public domain available for high resolution download. No permission required. No restrictions on use.


OECD iLibrary 
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data.

Online Etymological Dictionary 
Explanations of what our words meant and how they sounded 600 or 2,000 years ago.


Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection 
The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection is a general collection of more than 250,000 maps covering all areas of the world from The University of Texas at Austin.

Perseus Digital Library 
Primary and secondary sources for students of Latin, Classical Greek, Old English and History.
Perseus is a non-profit enterprise, located in the Department of the Classics, Tufts University.

Pindex 
Pindex is a pinboard for learning.
Teachers can create engaging boards for students, including quizzes to track progress.

Pixabay – Free Images 
Includes stock images from ShutterStock

ProQuest Science Journals 
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. This database is available from the State Library of NSW.  To get your State Library card sign up here.

Public Domain Project 
Download thousands of historic media files for your creative projects.

PubMedCentral 
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).


Q  


R  


SBS Food 
Bring the world to your kitchen, with recipes from more than 100+ cuisines.

SBS Learn 
Interactive learning resources, free classroom activities.

ScienceDirect 
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.

Science Reference Center
Designed to meet every student researcher’s needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.

SoundCloud 
Community of artists, bands, podcasters & creators of music and audio.

State Library of NSW 
The State Library of NSW is the premier library for the people of NSW.

State Records NSW 
State Records is the NSW Government’s archives and records management authority.

Structurae
Database for Civil and Structural Engineering

Sutori
Sutori is a free digital tool for creating multimedia timelines.


The Art Story 
Modern Art Movements, Artists, Ideas and Topics.

The Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry
The Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry contains 250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations, numbers that will continually expand with each update. The poems in full text are the most widely-read in the English language, as well as in Spanish, French, German, and Italian. This database is available from the State Library of NSW.  To get your State Library card sign up here.

The Quarry: A Social Justice Poetry Database 
The Quarry is a searchable collection of over 300 poems by a diverse array of contemporary socially engaged poets, published by Split This Rock since 2009.

The Shakespeare Collection 
Comprehensive, cross-searchable coverage of Shakespeare’s work, critical reception, textual history, performance history and cultural and historical context.
This database is available from the State Library of NSW.  To get your State Library card sign up here.

Trove 
Australian and online resources: books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more.


U  


V&A Collections
Search over one million objects from the V&A Collections.

VADS: Visual Arts Database Service
VADS maintains a searchable archive of digital resources for use by the visual arts community for learning, teaching and research. Resources include The Imperial War Museum art collection, London College of Fashion archive, Documentary Photography computer-aided learning program, Bretton Hall’s Halliwell and Basic Design collections.

Voice of the Shuttle 
Links to primary and secondary resources for humanities and humanities-related subjects. From the USA California, Santa Barbara, English Department.


Wellcome Images 
Thousands of images and centuries of medicine, science, society and culture.

Wheelers eBook Platform 
Sign in with your Oakhill username and password.

Wikimedia Commons 
A database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute

World Bank Photo Collection 
The World Bank has a distinctive collection of over 12,000 images that illustrate development through topics such as Agriculture, Education, Environment, Health, Trade and more.

World Digital Library 
Contains nearly 5,000 primary documents and images from collections around the world.
Sponsored by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization.

ABC Splash

ABC Splash

ABC Splash brings you high-quality digital educational content from across the ABC and around the world. Content includes videos, audio clips, games and interactive tools.

ABC Splash | STEM

ABC Splash | STEM

Dedicated STEM section from ABC Splash. Topics include coding, robotics, nanotechnology, design, engineering, construction.